17 Facts Should Know About Divorce You (Some are Weird!)

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Divorce on top of money

Divorce is in no way celebratory. Perhaps all people want to have that happily ever after. However, we are also aware that not everyone gets their happy ending for reasons we already lost count of.

If you’re one of the individuals who are searching for requirements for a divorce in Denver, Colorado or any other state, this list of divorce facts could help you.

Alimony

  1. Community property states (see number 3) no longer require alimony because it is assumed that since the property is divided equally, both spouses have “equal” financial situation. These states include Idaho, New Mexico, Texas, and Washington.
  2. Some states such as Georgia, Alaska, and West Virginia bar alimony if the spouse committed adultery.
  3. In Alabama and Utah, spousal support stops when the spouse remarries. This law also applies if the said spouse cohabitates with a new partner. Also, in Utah, the payment of alimony does not exceed the number of years together.
  4. In Delaware, alimony can go on for life if you’ve been married for more than 20 years.
  5. In Kansas, spousal support can be given only until 121 months or ten years and one month. Going beyond that is a rare occurrence.
  6. In Tennessee, a spouse is encouraged to be self-sufficient instead. Alimony may still be ordered, but only if there is a genuine need.
  7. In Colorado, you have to pay 40% of your income to your spouse on top of the equally divided property.
  8. In Florida, you need to give alimony to your would-be partner’s ex-spouse.
  9. In West Virginia, alimony gets barred if the receiving spouse is convicted of a felony, an infidel, or missing in action.
  10. In Connecticut and Vermont, alimony goes on forever or at least until the paying spouse dies.

Child Support

  1. There are four models of child support: income shares model, the percentage of income model, the hybrid model, and the Melson formula..

Child Support

  • Income shares model. In this model, the incomes of both parents are considered. Then, there is basic child support and presumptive child support. The total child support needed will then be divided according to each parent’s income. Forty states have this law.
  • Percentage of income model. In this model, only the noncustodial parent’s income is considered, which means he or she will be the one providing child support. Some states have a varying percentage while others have a flat percentage. Eleven states employ this model.
  • Hybrid model. This model is a variation of the varying percentage model, wherein the custodial parent’s income is also considered. Only the District of Columbia uses this model.
  • Melson formula. This model is another version of the income shares model where public policy judgments are part of the equation. Three states use this model—Delaware, Hawaii, and Montana.

Asset Division

  1. There are two ways to divide a couple’s properties: equitable distribution law and community property law. These properties, however, exclude separate properties, which are the properties acquired before marriage, inheritance, or gifts.
  • Equitable distribution law means the division doesn’t have to be 50/50. It will depend on several factors, such as the length of the marriage, the standard of living established, the age and health of each spouse, etc.
  • Community property law means all properties acquired during the marriage must be split equally between spouses. The states that uphold this law are Idaho, Arizona, California, Texas, Wisconsin, Louisiana, Nevada, Washington, and New Mexico. This law is optional for Alaska.

Uncanny Laws

  1. In New Hampshire, you don’t have to be a resident to file for a divorce. A divorce petition may be approved in one day.
  2. Most states do not have a waiting time before getting married again. You can remarry after your divorce is final.
  3. In Delaware, you should live in separate bedrooms if you’re getting a divorce but still cohabitating. Sex is allowed only if it’s an effort to reconcile.
  4. In Mississippi, being an idiot is a ground for divorce.
  5. Gay couples cannot divorce in states where gay marriage is not legal.

Who knew divorce can be this comic? Knowing these things can help you make a decision if you ever find yourself in a rocky relationship and you’re thinking of filing for a divorce.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *